The annual AAEC Champions of Arts in Education Award honors individuals and organizations from around Alaska whose efforts in teaching and supporting the arts across the curriculum ensure that all of Alaska’s students learn in and through the arts. 

This year there were many nominations and the final selection was very competitive.  The 2020 awardees are:

  • Marsha Williams, Arts Advocate, Anchorage
  • Cuungaq Melody Nolan, Arts Educator, Alegnagik
  • Reyne Athanas, Arts Leader, Bethel

Due to the pandemic the planned announcement at the Superintendent’s Legislative Fly-in Arts Celebration was cancelled.  However, we honor these three outstanding educators and all the other nominees.